2015 Torgas Townsville Awards Night

The TORGAS Awards Night was held at Jupiters Hotel & Casino on Friday 29th of May. 2015 marks the 31st Annual Awards Night, the event is recognised as TORGAS’ premier event celebrating the success of outstanding Apprentices and Trainees.

This year, we saw over 45 finalists in 30 categories, including Rising Star Award, Indigenous Apprentice of the Year and the two prestigious award of the evening; the TORGAS Trainee of the Year and the TORGAS Owen T Jones QLD Apprentice of the Year award.

This year two new awards were introduced to the awards categories; the Wayne Elliott Encouragement Award and the Endeavour Foundation Spirit Community Award. The Wayne Elliott Encouragement Award was created to remember the great man, Wayne Elliott who sadly passed away in 2014, soon after being named ‘TORGAS Mentor of the Year’ at the 30th anniversary TORGAS Awards night. Wayne was always very passionate about training the next generation of Electricians. Electrical Apprentice, Matthew Pullella was very grateful to be named the first recipient of the ‘Wayne Elliott Encouragement Award’. This awarded was presented by Wayne’s daughter, Mandy Elliott and one of his previous apprentices, David Reaston who spoke about his time with Wayne.

The ‘Endeavour Foundation Community Spirit Award’ went to Hughenden apprentice, Matthew Ashwell. This award recognised an individual who has struggled in life and despite the hardship has come through showing determination, resilience and commitment to achieving their goal. Matthew is a 4th year Plumbing apprentice and is hosted with Flinders Shire Council.

Karly Moro had a fantastic night taking out the ‘Most Outstanding Business Administration Trainee of the Year’ and the ‘TORGAS Trainee of the Year’. Karly thanked her host business, PricewaterhouseCoopers and TORGAS in her speech and spoke said that winning this award is something she worked towards throughout her whole traineeship.

Chalmers Underwood was the other big winner of the evening. First he won the ‘Most Outstanding 4th Year Electrical Apprentice of the Year’ and then was named the ‘TORGAS Owen T Jones QLD Apprentice of the Year’- the ultimate award for apprentices. Chalmers’ host business, Schneider Electric Buildings Australia and his mum were these to celebrate with him. Chalmers also won the ‘Most Outstanding Electrical Apprentice’ in his 1st and 3rd Year, so he is very well deserving of this award.

‘The 2015 Awards night was a huge success, the feedback was received was sensational,’ said TORGAS CEO, George Peever.
‘The quality and strength of character of these young apprentices and trainees leaves me in no doubt that the world is in the best of hands. They are courteous, respectful, intelligent, focussed, diligent, passionate and articulate, and far wiser and more confident for their years than I ever was at their age. I thoroughly enjoyed interviewing all the finalists and I am so proud of them all. 



Host Business

School-Based Apprentice

Rohan Bateup

Xtreme Bricklaying

Industry Trainee of the Year

Adam Ross


Business Administration Trainee of the Year

Karly Moro


1st Year Electrical Apprentice

Kerrod Wilson

Chubb Fire & Security

2nd Year Electrical Apprentice

Dylan Denny

Endfire Engineering

3rd Year Electrical Apprentice

Harry Giudes

Stowe Australia

4th Year Electrical Apprentice

Chalmers Underwood

Schneider Electric Buildings Australia

Mature Age Electrical Apprentice / Wayne Allan Award

Ryan Toomby

FMR Investments

1st Year Engineering Apprentice

Jye Thomas

QLD Sugar (Lucinda Terminal)

2nd Year Engineering Apprentice

Michael Lee

Strathdickie Engineering / ADANI

3rd Year Engineering Apprentice

Clinton Chandler

FMR Investments

4th Year Engineering Apprentice

Bryce Bebendorf

QLD Sugar (Lucinda Terminal)

1st Year Automotive Apprentice            

Zachary Zwynenburg

Proserpine Machinery Service

2nd Year Automotive Apprentice

Conor Doyle

Doyle Star Motors

4th Year Automotive Apprentice

Lincoln Major

Flinders Shire Council

1st Year Construction Apprentice

Adam Coleman

Flinders Shire Council

2nd Year Construction Apprentice

Luke Palmer

Flinders Shire Council

4th Year Construction Apprentice

Ethan Wilson

AJ McLean Constructions

1st Year Hospitality Apprentice

Sid Taye

- Bohle Barn Hotel/Motel

2nd Year Hospitality Apprentice

Keegan Woodhall

Riverview Tavern/Bohle Barn Hotel Motel

Rising Star

Keith Whitten

Flinders Shire Council

Locker Group Award

Jye Thomas

QLD Sugar (Lucinda Terminal)

Workplace, Health & Safety Recognition Award

Nathan Miller

Markwell Group

Wayne Elliott Encouragement Award

Matthew Pullella

Peter Dunston Electrical

Endeavour Foundation Community Spirit Award

Matthew Ashwell

Flinders Shire Council

Host Business of the Year


Flinders Shire Council

Host Business of the Year


Coutts Redington

Mentor of the Year

John McGown

Samford Homes

Mentor of the Year

Raelene Bolger

Lancini Property & Development

Indigenous Apprentice of the Year

Kevin Bulsey

Locker Group

Trainee of the Year

Karly Moro


Apprentice of the Year

Chalmers Underwood

Schneider Electric Buildings Australia


Thank you to our Sponsors:

Platinum Partner

Diamond Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Prize Sponsors

Contributing Sponsors


Join the TORGAS Mailing List